A Bit of Honesty.

I’m old enough to know a failing thought and young enough to hope for it. It’s more about finding the strength to let it fail.

Maybe I’m afraid. It’s not about being headstrong or independent, it’s about beating the coward in me. And I’m a coward to a repeating history.

You will bring me right back to my knees, the one place I’m fighting like hell to stay away from. I’ve never been good at anything more than running and I can’t say anyone has ever expected anything else of me. And to fight the urge to fall into the comforting thought of just running as fast as I can in the other direction, well, might take every piece of strength I have.

And sometimes that’s just not enough.

One thought on “A Bit of Honesty.

  1. Pingback: Writers and doubt « I am a writer … dangit.

Leave a Reply

